Betty J. Bamforth Award

The Betty J. Bamforth Award is presented annually to a fourth year medical student who has demonstrated interest and excellence in the field of anesthesiology and preoperative medicine. Dr. Bamforth trained in anesthesiology at the University of Wisconsin under Dr. Ralph M. Waters, founder of the first academic anesthesiology program in the country. She held a faculty position from 1954 to 1992, serving as Interim Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs in the Medical School, and Mentor of the Class of 1992. Dr. Bamforth was a consummate teacher, administrator, researcher and practitioner for 38 years, training over 250 residents and fellows in the art and science of anesthesiology.

This award is selected by the Department of Anesthesiology.

Supplemental Questions
  1. Please describe your interest in the field of Anesthesiology.
  2. Please describe your research efforts in Anesthesiology.
  3. Please describe a clinical interaction in Anesthesiology that highlights your approach to clinical care.
  4. Attach a copy of your CV.