James L. Baughman Undergraduate Excellence Fund

Professor James L. Baughman was a long-time faculty member of SJMC and our senior achievement awards were named after him to honor his service to our students. The undergraduate scholarship committee reviews all applications and selects recipients based on their efforts and contributions, along with their GPA. The committee recommends the final candidates to the faculty, who ultimately vote to approve the recipients. Each year, 5 to 6 students are awarded the $500 James L. Baughman Senior Achievement Award and are invited to our annual awards banquet where they are given recognition.

About the process: Students do not apply for individual scholarships with the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Students fill out one application and the scholarship committee matches students to awards. Scholarships are awarded based on financial need, academics, study area and involvement. Visit our website for more information about our undergraduate scholarship program and accessing our application.

Who is eligible to apply?
Declared School of Journalism and Mass Communication majors
Seniors graduating in the spring or summer terms

Who is not eligible to apply?
Seniors graduating in December of the current term

School of Journalism and Mass Communication